run while you can

Over dinner.

A hand-painted business sign. Madison, WI. Spring 2007.

We, you and I, don’t talk for long periods of time.

Then we pretend our words are more valuable.

Along the lines of supply and demand, our language is a commodity.

This concludes my appraisal.

This is the way I think; I have no idea the way you think,

or how the people I speak with each day,

the true consumers of my language,

how they think I think. (It’s a sticky business, really.)

I want to put all the thoughts back in the damned box.

But to stop wondering would mean giving up my heart;

And the other part: not just the sick know sickness.

Leave a Reply

