run while you can

Guiding bite.

Fighting off the paparazzi. Icheon, South Korea. Fall 2010.

Ben,
After having spent the better half of the last year in constrained silence, I ought not complain about the circumstances of my reemergence. But, at length, I must set aside my fear of being hurtful for our overall well-being. Here it is: You suck to be around sometimes.

No, seriously, teaching drains your energy. Some days you come home and go to sleep straight away. What is that? I need some mental stimulation: ride a bike, walk around; for chrissake, cook! Okay, you’re a rookie playing only away games. But you were fully aware of the conditions when you signed the contract. Get off it! Get invigorated!

Last January, upon launching this site, you called Like a Wave ‘a canvas for nonsense.’ Does your brand of nonsense differ from mine? Inject some lightheartedness into db; elicit some smirks, pal. My understanding is that this tactic will simultaneously expand the overall allure of your writing, as well as, bolster some self-confidence. Stop fretting about academia; dilute your art with immaturity.

Finally, I need to advise an attitude overhaul: turn away from cynicism and uncertainty. As you may have noticed, I am setting a halfwit example. Still, I bet my comforting words and wholesome guidance feel fine. Make no mistake, I do not intend to stroke that ego of yours (we both know that results in mood swings). Superiority and wretchedness pale by comparison to happiness and humility. Check it: find the means to turn cynicism into a less serious sense of humor. For example:

You/Me: “What did the psychologist say to the patient?”

Live Internet Audience: “What?!?”

You/me: “All this mental disorder garbage is in your head.”

So there. I cannot continue to prop you up. You’re not a heavy weight, but I need help with this existence ordeal. Simple survival isn’t for the fittest; it’s for the sluggish.
Take this to heart; put it into practice:
Spend more time doing what some people call ‘praying’ and other people call ‘talking to yourself.’

The bitter-sweet and lightly battered,
Julius keen

You're still a dude, brah.

2 responses

  1. Dr. Phil

    Humility: duh. But what’s wrong with uncertainty? Sometimes it’s helpful to just accept the things you don’t know. I read Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff in high school, I would know. “Trying to become a more loving person” just barely missed the cut of being my latest Facebook album title.

    March 9, 2011 at 12:19 am

    • Fixating on uncertainty is dangerous:
      The act breeds pessimism if paired with cynicism; if uncertainty is treated optimistically, letdown seems inevitable.
      Is the above an either/or fallacy? -Probably- Those are my specialty.
      Anyway, remaining neutral and prepared is the levelheaded path. Raw complacency is entitled laziness…

      March 9, 2011 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

