run while you can

Before we fly.

The entire flock. Hyoyang Middle School. Summer 2011.

My mind is out of breath.
Back to the drawing board
like an aimless artist,
cutting onions, laughing,
lost days scribbled away.

The word for dangerous,
echoes in my deaf ear.
here: ‘we, home’ or ‘way home.’
Hear: “I can’t say ‘see you’.”
I didn’t get ‘goodbye.’

Nervous system story,
an empty starting line:
Me and my questionnaire,
two, abstractly smiling,
tomorrow and so on.

Their red glare. Seoul, South Korea. Summer 2011.

Leave a Reply

